Kapatagan has a total land area of 25,048.41 hectares which include the area that is now being contested by the  Municipality of Lala with an approximate area of 759 hectares.


On the southern and eastern sides of the locality are mountains which serve as natural barriers protecting the Municipality from typhoons. Offsetting the mountain is the presence of flat coastal lands and valley. Kapatagan has some rolling plains.

It has five (5) major rivers that flow to  Panguil Bay, namely: Maranding, Panoloon, Butadon, Kidalos, and Balili. These rivers sometimes, especially during the rainy season, overflow causing floods resulting to destruction and even death of farm and land animals.

The Cathedral Falls and Sta. Cruz waterfalls are located at Barangays Cathedral Falls, Sta. Cruz, and Waterfalls respectively. At present, the spring supplies water into Poblacion and some neighboring barangays.


The Municipality has a tropical climate. Dry season starts during the month of October and ends in June. Wet season starts in the month of July and ends in December.


Kapatagan is politically subdivided into 33 barangays.

  • Bagong Badian
  • Mahayahay
  • Bagong Silang
  • Malinas
  • Balili
  • Maranding
  • Bansarvil
  • Margos
  • Belis
  • Poblacion
  • Buenavista
  • Pulang Yuta
  • Butadon
  • San Isidro
  • Cathedral Falls
  • San Vicente
  • Concepcion
  • Santa Cruz
  • Curvada
  • Santo Tomas
  • De Asis
  • Suso
  • Donggoan
  • Taguitic
  • Durano
  • Tiacongan
  • Kahayagan
  • Tipolo
  • Kidalos
  • Tulatulahan
  • La Libertad
  • Waterfalls
  • Lapinig